Transportation Planning in Municipalities in Maryland

The state of Maryland has 157 municipalities (cities, towns and villages) and 61 of these are in located in the Metropolitan Washington Region. Many of Maryland’s most notable population centers (such as Bethesda or Silver Spring) are not incorporated as municipalities and therefore receive their local government services, including transportation planning and maintenance, from their counties.

Seven of Maryland's municipalities (listed below) have chosen to be members of the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB). These municipalities all have their own planning departments which conduct studies and develop plans, promote economic development, and oversee zoning.

Each municipality also has a department of public works with responsibility for the maintenance of local streets and sidewalks, among other services.

Maryland municipalities are part of the counties in which they are geographically situated, and therefore the planning activities of these cities are closely coordinate with the counties' planning departments.


The Bowie Master Plan was developed in 2006 by the Prince George's County Planning Department in coordination with the city's Department of Planning and Economic Development. The plan’s chapter on Areawide Infrastructure includes recommended transportation projects and improvements.

College Park

College Park's Comprehensive Plan, including a transportation element, was developed by the city’s Planning Department in 1995. Much of the city’s current planning has focused on economic development in three development districts along U.S. 1. These planning activities have identified transportation improvements for this corridor.


The City of Frederick's latest Comprehensive Plan, developed by the City Planning Department, was adopted in 2010.  The Transportation Element of this plan identifies key objectives, including increased transportation choice, better transportation management and design, and maintenance of neighborhood character.


Gaithersburg’s Master Plan, adopted in 2009, was developed by the city’s Planning and Code Administration. A Transportation Element of the Master Plan was adopted in 2010.


Rockville’s Comprehensive Master Plan, including a transportation element, was developed by the Department of Community Planning and Development Services in 2002 and is currently undergoing revision. Over the years, the plan has been amended to include neighborhood plans, a Bikeway Master Plan and a Municipal Growth Element.

Takoma Park

Montgomery County’s Planning Department (M-NCPPC) developed and approved the Takoma Park Master Plan in 2000. The chapter called “Neighborhood-Friendly Circulation Systems” provides transportation recommendations.

The city’s Department of Community Planning conducts a variety of planning activities, with a particular focus on recent years on the New Hampshire Avenue Revitalization and Redevelopment Initiative.

Photo of Rockville courtesy of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments.